Disruptive Innovation…That’s All Folks

Well, folks, in just a few weeks, I have gone from knowing next to nothing about disruptive innovation to nearly a full-blown expert in the field. When I think about how my organization will continue to leverage disruptive innovation, I can only think of the ability to adapt to new technologies and stay ahead of the game regarding what the future of technology can bring. As I learned in the beginning phase of this class, “disruptive innovation” is a change in the process of a product or service where something takes root at the bottom and moves up to the top, replacing the established competitors. In the HOBY organization, we have seen the Web2Project come and go as an example of how “disruptive innovation” can be an obstacle as well as an opportunity for change. For many years before this program came into place, we spent countless hours developing curricula and technology plans in an attempt to take whatever was being thrown at us in stride. As time went on, though, we realized that we had to use this technology to our advantage. We quickly realized that we had the chance to change our systems in the back-of-the-house to processes that can become more efficient, more user-friendly, and generally better for all who have to perform administrative functions in the organization.

The ActiveCollab program is a continuation of the Web2Project that began in 2012 as a way to make all chapters more efficient. When I received training in this role, I realized soon after that this would become my sole responsibility in the organization. While everyone saw this computer program as a big hurdle, I jumped at the chance to complete this role. If there is one thing that I have learned in this course, it is that in our jobs and in our personal lives, change can happen at any time. We have to always see change as an opportunity, rather than as a nuisance to what we are already doing. If there is one life lesson that I have said through the years to many people, “Mediocrity is something we should all never let take over our lives!” When we become mediocre, we take things at the regular level, become complacent, and never seek to make anything better. We should always strive to make our lives and workplaces better and “disruptive innovation” gives us the chance to do just that.

I plan to always see new technologies in the HOBY organization and in my personal life as a chance for things to be made better. I hope to inspire others at the professional and personal level by becoming a “disruptive innovator” and always seeing change as a chance to make all of our lives better. In the HOBY organization, I will see each new change that comes along in the future years as a path to improvement, rather than as a hurdle to be overcome. As I now know, we should all strive to be “disruptive innovators,” and not just accept reality for what it is. If I become the catalyst for change at HOBY, I have the ability to provide an even better experience for our ambassadors and change lives for the better. We can make our computer systems function even better and allow 100 percent compliance to occur within the national curriculum guidelines. We might also develop systems that the national board of directors might see as award-winning and want to implement these programs in HOBY chapters across the globe. In a world that most of us see as bad, I promise to use my technology skills to change the lives of others and craft and mold the leaders of tomorrow into change agents in their communities. In this way, we can ensure that good will flourish in the world. This is my hope for “disruptive innovation,” and the way that I want to change our organization and the world.

As I explained in the previous paragraphs, I promise to always see disruptive innovation as an opportunity for improvement, rather than just a hurdle to be overcome. As I look at my project plan, I think about how all of this is connected within. The main fact that I learned from my literature I outlined a three point plan in a previous blog that gave the steps involved. In the infographic below, I spell out exactly what that means.

Click the link below to see the infographic.

https://infograph.venngage.com/p/106902/four-step-list

 

IMG_6668

As I look at this technology program, I now want to take a look at and elaborate on all of the benefits to learners of implementing this plan.

Here they are:

  • More professional engagement among volunteers
    • For many years, HOBY has had a good training program for volunteers by sending them to a special conference in Houston, Texas for training on various systems, including fundraising, photography, and risk management. I want to train our volunteers to intensify on this training and provide a pathway for improvements to be made. This will allow disruptive innovation to flourish in our organization.
  • More opportunities for collaboration among other seminar sites about organizational effectiveness
    • I want to collaborate with other coordinators of ActiveCollab programs about how they are making their more effective. This can give HOBY in Louisiana a chance to see what we can do better and measure all results concerning our computer programs. By using data, we can get a measurable result and develop a strategic plan on how to get there.
  • Improvements to how new technologies can be transitioned to in the future in the organization
    • From this implementation, all learners of our technology can develop a better sense of “disruptive innovation” in its most basic form. This could mean that HOBY would have an easier time implementing new technologies across all seminars with all volunteers at the forefront of the transitions to be made. THe learning of new technology could be made the center of a strategic plan that could make our seminar run much better. This could then be copied across seminars across the world.
  • Informational tools that can be given to other chapters
    • By collecting data from this implementation program, I hope to capture all of our potential to learn new technologies by making them easier to use. If the human factor is improved, efficiency can then be improved, and other chapters of HOBY can use our information to make their seminars better. The data collection from our experience could be given to HOBY chapters around the world. From this, the learners of ActiveCollab in HOBY would have a much better time learning new technologies to help their seminar committee. “Disruptive Innovation” would have reached its goal by making it easy for chapters to adapt to new technology upon instant request of the national board of directors.

I firmly believe that by implementing this three-step plan, looking at the benefits, and giving encouragement to technology learners along the way in our seminar programs, that we can truly prepare for “disruptive innovation” in our organization. as I found out in my literature review, many companies and companies have technology already, but they are not using it effectively. We have the chance here to use our organization’s technology more efficiently. So, in taking this step, the HOBY organization can move from a reactive to a proactive status that allows us to use technology to make things better. This would be helpful for all learners in our organization.

IMG_6723

In keeping with the theme of above, I now want to point out some literature and resources my organization might enjoy looking at to better take advantage of disruptive innovation.

  • Out of Our Minds by Sir Ken Robinson
  • Here Comes Everybody: The Power of Organizing Without Organizations by Clay Shirky
  • 21st Century Skills: Rethinking How Students Learn by James Bellanca and Ron Brandt
  • Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us by Daniel H. Pink

I hope you enjoyed this blog post, and this is just a taste of what we can accomplish when we take advantage of “disruptive innovation” in our daily lives. We can go from being reactive to proactive when we try to learn about technology. Disruptive innovation is the catalyst of change in an existing market. At HOBY, the ActiveCollab program is our “disruptive innovator” in a sea of complacency. This is my conclusion of the “disruptive innovation” model that I want to be a catalyst of change for. Thanks for reading, and I hope that you were inspired to ignite change in your organization. As Porky Pig once said, “That’s All Folks!” Please leave a comment below.

IMG_0137

IMG_2758

IMG_0161

 






 

 

2 Comments

    1. Chad, I am currently working on this blog page. I will finish it tomorrow and decided to save it. The only thing I have on it is the title. Check back later to see this exciting post. It will be spectacular!

      Thanks,
      Andrew

      Like

Leave a Reply

